Jane Austen Short Story Award 2014

>>Jane Austen Short Story Award 2014

Jane Austen Short Story Award 2014

2016-11-23T10:23:53+00:0016th May 2014|Library News|

Jane_Austen_coloured_versionShort List Announced

The selection of those who have made it through to the third stage of the competition – the ‘Shortlist’ – has been made. Congratulations to these entrants. The winner, runners-up and finalists will be announced on 18 July 2014.

Thank you to everyone who submitted a story. The competition attracted entries from all over the world, from as far afield as Australia, South Africa, Canada and the USA. The standard was particularly high this year, which led to some tough decisions in selecting a shortlist.

The short list:

Anne Thomas – The Power of Nurse Rooke
Christina Acosta – The Fall
Claire Girvan – The Nemesis of Meryton
Deirdre Maher – Gorgeous George
Eithne Cullen – Benwick’s Tale
Elisabeth Lenckos – Mary Crawford’s Last Letter
Emily Ruth Verona – Forgotten Things
Fiona Skepper – Farewell Lady Catherine
Janet Lee – Mary’s Silver Knife
Jocelyn Watson – The Tell-Tale Signs
Judith Hemington – Eyes Opened
Kristin Celms – The Altar
Leslie McMurtry -Five Theories
Lucy Yates – Money the Hard Way
Marian Ford – The Austen Factor
Mary Fitzpatrick – My Name is Catherine Burrows
Marybeth Ihle – Ladies of England
Moz Walls – Taking the Cure
Pamela Holmes – The Wedding Planner
Penelope Randall – Mary Bennet and the i-phone
Price W. Grisham – Candour
Sandy Norris – All at Sea
Sarah Baillie – A Thing of Beauty
Sarah Shaw – Romance and Rehydration
Susan Piper – The Grey Lady

From these entries 20 will be selected for publication. The first prize winner and two runners-up will be chosen from amongst the successful entries. The results will be announced on 18 July 2014.