NPG 3181; Jane Austen by Unknown artistWe are pleased to announce the winner, runners-up and finalists of the 2014 short fiction award organised by Chawton House Library.

The competition attracted entries from around the world and amongst the finalists are American, Australian and British writers. The standard of this year’s entries was very high, which made the process of adjudication challenging. It is clear from the range of stories that all of Jane Austen’s novels continue to inspire contemporary creative writers.

Our warmest congratulations to those who have made the winners’ list. Their stories will appear in an anthology to be published in 2015, details of which will be announced shortly on the Chawton House website.

Many thanks to everyone who entered the competition.

The final adjudication of entries to the competition is as follows:

First Prize:
Pamela Holmes – The Wedding Planner

Runners Up:
Susan Piper – The Grey Lady
Marybeth Ihle – Ladies of England

Anne Thomas – The Power of Nurse Rooke
Claire Girvan – The Nemesis of Meryton
Deirdre Maher – Gorgeous George
Eithne Cullen – Benwick’s Tale
Elisabeth Lenckos –  Mary Crawford’s Last Letter
Emily Ruth Verona – Forgotten Things
Fiona Skepper – Farewell Lady Catherine
Janet Lee – Mary’s Silver Knife
Jocelyn Watson – The Tell-Tale Signs
Leslie McMurtry –Five Theories
Lucy Yates – Money the Hard Way
Marian Ford – The Austen Factor
Mary Fitzpatrick – My Name is Katherine Burrows
Price W. Grisham – Candour
Sandy Norris – All at Sea
Sarah Baillie – A Thing of Beauty
Sarah Shaw – Romance and Rehydration