Events archive

>>Events archive
Events archive2016-07-06T13:34:04+00:00

2019

Saturday 19th January 2019

Chawton House

Evening Orchard Wassail

A magical night of merrymaking following the ancient tradition of the Orchard Wassail! There will be singing, toasting and torch-lit procession to the orchard in the Walled Garden.

2018

Thursday 13th December 2018

Chawton House

Afternoon recital: 'Austen Sisters'

Join us for a diverting and dramatic recital of readings from Jane and Cassandra Austen’s letters, prose and poetry about sisters.

Saturday 1st December 2018

Chawton House

Chawton House Christmas Fayre

Come and do a spot of Christmas shopping in the festive atmosphere of Chawton House.

Saturday 3rd November 2018

Chawton House

Late Opening: Bonfire Night

Extended opening hours, mulled cider and toffee apples before Chawton village’s firework display.

Wednesday 31st October 2018

Chawton House

Tour: Late Night Gothic (Sold Out)

Join us this Halloween for a candlelit tour of our Gothic exhibition.

Saturday 1st September 2018

Chawton House

Day of Talks: Jane Austen & Southampton Spa

A day of talks on Jane Austen’s life, works and world, focusing on the Southampton years

Saturday 16th June 2018 to Sunday 24th June 2018

Chawton House

Jane Austen Regency Week Events

Find out what is happening at Chawton House during Alton’s Jane Austen Regency Week.

Thursday 24th May 2018

Chawton House

Evening Talk: The Three Exhibitions that Saved the Country House

In this lavishly illustrated talk, Dr Oliver Cox explores the fall and rise of the English country house.

Monday 7th May 2018

Chawton House

Bluebell Estate Walk

Explore the Chawton House estate in the company of our Garden Manager, Andrew Bentley, followed by a full English cooked breakfast in the Old Kitchen.

Thursday 26th April 2018

Chawton House

Evening Talk: In Her Mother’s Footsteps: Mary Shelley and Mary Wollstonecraft

In this talk, award-winning author Charlotte Gordon explores the extraordinary relationship between Mary Wollstonecraft and her daughter Mary Shelley.